Test Kitchen (Blog #2)

What do I like about cooking? It is edible art. I have had numerous opportunities working with two skilled home cooks. My mom was my first teacher in the kitchen. The second most influential person is Jenny who taught me and the other fellows at The Eco-Institute at Pickards Mountain (Chapel Hill, NC.) My mom and Jenny have two very different styles of food preparation. There is nothing at all wrong with that. Everyone has their own preferences and techniques in their kitchen. There is no wrong way to cook, well, unless you are just not good and don’t like to. I believe that 90% of cooking and baking is due to experience. I have learned techniques and tricks from experienced cooks, but the bulk of my learning really comes from finding a recipe and trying it; maybe it works or maybe it does not. The most important thing is that you try, and learn from my mistakes, if any.

The goal for this “food blog” is to share my journey in the world of culinary arts. Thank you for being a part of this adventure. Bon appetite!

Best,

Abby

 

Leave a Reply

